Washington Nationals baseball franchise is the Major League Baseball based in Washington, DC since 2005. They operate in the National League. The Nationals have never played the World Series and remain one of the two formations of the current MLB (with the Seattle Mariners) never to have won a League title.

The franchise was founded in 1969 under the name of the Montreal Expos. After a decade of disappointing results, the team knows an upturn in the early 1980s, winning his only championship division in 1981. The Expos lost two finals of the National League 3-2 against the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Low-performing during the late 1980s, then a rebound occurs at the beginning of the next decade with players like Larry Walker, Moises Alou, Marquis Grissom and Pedro Martínez. The division title obtained in 1981 had been achieved against a background of players’ strike; same pattern as in 1994. The Expos are leading their division when the season was halted due to strike. It does not repeat, frustrating the Expos who had previously aligned with the best results of the LMB. After the disappointment of 1994, the franchise began to lose players, fans and money.