Toronto Blue Jays Logo – The Toronto Blue Jays is a team of baseball from professional baseball in North America based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. They belong to the Eastern Division of the American League. Stand out as the only team from outside the United States to have won a World Series. Since the season 2004, following the relocation of the Montreal Expos to Washington DC, is the only Canadian team in the majors.

The Blue Jays were founded in 1976 and competed for the first time this season 1977 as an expansion team in the American League. That year the Seattle Mariners also made ​​their appearance in the big leagues. His first match would be a 9-5 victory over the Chicago White Sox on April 17, 1977. In that game the Jays Doug Ault batearía 2 home runs. During the 1977 season defeated Toronto would have a start of 54 wins and 107 losses.

In 1978 and 1979 seasons the team would have a horrible brand with more than 100 losses per season even though the SS Alfredo Griffith would be named co-rookie of the year in the American League in 1979. In 1980 Bobby Mattick to replace her as manager Roy Hartsfield, the original manager Jays.

The Blue Jays come in 1983 with its first winning season, a 89-73. The following year the team achieve the same 89-73 record and second in the division querando this very close to reaching the playoffs that year. The Blue Jays made ​​their first playoff appearance in the 1985 season with a record of 99-62 as division champions but fall in the division series against the Kansas City Royals by 3-4. In 1987, Toronto lost for just 2 parties fighting for the title of this division of the American League with the Detroit Tigers. Despite having finished second with a record of 96-66, one of the best brands in the history of the franchise, not be enough to reach the playoffs as a wild card. They would have the consolation that left fielder George Bell was named MVP of the American League. The Jays siguirían having winning seasons but would fail to advance to the postseason between 1986 and 1988. They won the World Series of baseball in 1992 and 1993.