NFL Logo – The National Football League, better known by its acronym in English, NFL, is the largest league football career of the United States . The NFL takes the legal form of Sport Association, controlled by its own members. Was created by eleven teams in 1920 as the American Professional Football Association (the league changed its name to American Professional Football League in 1921 to change it again the name now in effect in 1922). Currently the NFL consists of 32 franchises established in various cities and regions Americans. It is divided into two conferences: the National (NFC) and American (AFC). In turn, each conference is comprised of four divisions (North, South, East and West) and each of them, for four different teams.

The regular season consists of a calendar of seventeen weeks during which each team has a break (called bye week), consisting of six games against teams from the same Division as well as several cross-divisional matchups and interconferenciales. The season begins Thursday night, the first full week of September (the Thursday after the Labor Day) and continues in early January.

At the end of the regular season, six teams from each conference compete for the playoffs, a direct elimination match between the twelve teams that culminates in the final match for the championship, known as the Super Bowl. This event is played on a default city, usually with some team in the NFL. The following week is held on Pro Bowl in Honolulu, Hawaii, where they face both conferences composed of the best players of the year.