Dallas Mavericks Logo – Dallas Mavericks (also known as the Mavs) is a professional team of basketball of the NBA based in Dallas, Texas. The franchise is owned by the entrepreneur of internet Mark Cuban. Founded in 1980, the Mavericks play in the Southwest Division of the Western Conference. Throughout its history have won a title achieved in the 2010-11 season in the NBA, two division titles and two conference as well as having achieved a second place in the NBA in 2006.

Since 2001, dispute their home games at American Airlines Center. This championship was achieved in 6 games (4-2) to the Miami Heat, which avenged the end of 2006 which ended up losing after going up 2-0 but eventually lost in 6, the 2 unique end in its history. According to the magazine Forbes, the Mavericks are the fourth most valuable franchise in the United States, valued at approximately $ 463 million, behind New York Knicks, Los Angeles Lakers and Chicago Bulls.

In 1979, the businessman Don Carter and partner Norm Sonju requested permission to bring a franchise in the NBA to Dallas. The last professional basketball team was Dallas Chaparrals of the ABA, who moved to San Antonio in 1973 and became San Antonio Spurs.