American Idol Logo – American Idol is a program of reality TV contestants singers created by Simon Fuller and produced by FremantleMedia and 19 Entertainment, which began airing on Fox on June 11, 2002. Part of the franchise Idol, is a derivative of the British show Pop Idol. The purpose of this program is to find new solo artists, and has since become one of the most popular American TV history. Since 11 January, is the most watched as the screen quota and is the only program to have been number one for six consecutive seasons, surpassing All in the Family and The Cosby Show, which was number one for five consecutive.

The program aims to discover the best singer in the country where the winner is determined by viewers. Through Phone, Internet, and vote for SMS, viewers have chosen as winners Kelly Clarkson, Ruben Studdard, Fantasia Barrino, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Hicks, Jordin Sparks, David Cook, Kris Allen, Lee DeWyze and Scotty McCreery (named in chronological order). In twelve years show the jury was composed Jennifer Lopez, Simon Cowell, Kara DioGuardi, Steven Tyler, Paula Abdul, Randy Jackson and Ellen De Generes.

The three original judges were music producer and winner of the Grammy Awards Randy Jackson, pop singer, winner of the Grammy Awards and Emmy Awards, also choreographer Paula Abdul and award-winning music executive and music producer Simon Cowell. Since January 2011, the judging panel currently consists of Jackson, the award-winning singer / actress and record producer Jennifer Lopez and the leader of Aerosmith singer and winner of the Grammy Awards Steven Tyler. one for all seasons the program has been driven by the radio DJ Ryan Seacrest. The program was described by rival TV executives as “the most powerful program in television history.” Has also become recognized as the springboard that launched the careers of many artists in good faith.